At least 13 dead after magnitude 6.8 earthquake shakes Ecuador

At least 13 dead after magnitude 6.8 earthquake shakes Ecuador

At least 13 individuals have been killed and dozens more wounded following a magnitude 6.8 earthquake that shook Ecuador on Tuesday.

The seismic event occurred at approximately 8:17 p.m. local time, according to the United States Geological Survey, and was centered about 110 miles northwest of Quito, near the town of Pedernales in the north of Manabi province.

The effects of the quake were felt throughout the country, including in the capital of Quito, where buildings and roads sustained damage.

The government of Ecuador has declared a state of emergency in the region and is working to provide aid and assistance to those affected by the disaster.

The Ministry of Public Health reported that 13 deaths have been confirmed, and more than 140 people were injured. The fatalities and injuries occurred in the towns of Manta, Portoviejo, and Pedernales, which were the closest to the epicenter.

The government has activated a protocol for disaster response, including the deployment of the National Police, the Ecuadorian Red Cross, and the Ministry of Social Inclusion. These organizations are providing medical assistance, emergency relief, and search and rescue operations.

The government has also opened shelters in the affected areas and is in the process of evaluating the extent of the damage and assessing the needs of the local population.

The magnitude 6.8 quake was the most powerful to hit Ecuador since the magnitude 7.8 earthquake that struck in April of 2016, killing over 600 people and causing widespread destruction.

The USGS has classified Tuesday’s quake as a “significant event,” and has issued a yellow alert, meaning that aftershocks could occur.

The Ecuadorian government is urging citizens to remain alert and maintain safety protocols as aftershock activity could continue for the next several weeks.