Monaco Grand Prix |  Second free practice session: Verstappen fastest

Monaco Grand Prix | Second free practice session: Verstappen fastest

(Monte-Carlo) Max Verstappen (Red Bull), the leader in the Formula 1 world championship, set the fastest time in 2e Monaco Grand Prix free practice session, 6e round of the F1 World Championship, Friday at the Monaco circuit.

Only 6e from the first tests contested earlier in the day, the Dutchman, who complained a lot about clutch problems and the difficulty of driving the RB19, seems to be on the mend.

On Friday evening, the reigning double world champion is ahead of the Ferraris of Monegasque Charles Leclerc and Spaniard Carlos Sainz, at the origin of the only red flag of the session, after hitting the wall around fifteen minutes. Time to remove the car, the session was able to continue again.

Another Spaniard follows, Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin), Englishman Lando Norris (McLaren) and Lewis Hamilton (Merdedes), another Red Bull of Sergio Pérez and Finn Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo).

French Alpine drivers Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon complete the Top 10.

On Saturday, the drivers will compete in the final practice session scheduled for 12:30 p.m. before qualifying at 4 p.m.

  • Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull) 1:12,462
  • Charles Leclerc (MON/Ferrari) 1:12,527
  • Carlos Sainz Jr. (ESP/Ferrari) 1:12,569
  • Fernando Alonso (ESP/Aston Martin-Mercedes) 1:12,682
  • Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes) 1:12,906
  • Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 1:12,960
  • Sergio Perez (MEX/Red Bull) 1:12,991
  • Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 1:13,050
  • Pierre Gasly (FRA/Alpine-Renault) 1:13,089
  • Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine-Renault) 1:13,162
  • Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin-Mercedes) 1:13,185
  • George Russell (GBR/Mercedes) 1:13,191
  • Zhou Guanyu (CHN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 1:13,354
  • Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas-Ferrari) 1:13,457
  • Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Haas-Ferrari) 1:13,520
  • Yuki Tsunoda (JPN/AlphaTauri-Red Bull) 1:13,641
  • Nyck de Vries (NED/AlphaTauri-Red Bull) 1:13,663
  • Oscar Piastri (AUS/McLaren-Mercedes) 1:13,673
  • Logan Sargeant (USA/Williams-Mercedes) 1:14,238
  • Alexander Albon (THA/Williams-Mercedes) 1:14,515