Preview at Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach >> OpenWheelWorld.Net

Preview at Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach >> OpenWheelWorld.Net

In addition to Palou and O’Ward, Josef Newgarden also has a chance to win the championship, but the American is now behind the Chip Ganassi Racing driver by 48 points, so Newgarden will not only be able to win but will also have to hope for the best. good luck to Palou if the Team Penske driver manages to beat the Spaniard for what would be his third IndyCar title. However, with three title contenders, there are more people on the coast, Alexander Rossi would like to repeat his work of the last two and three years on the streets of Long Beach with men like Graham Rahal, Simon Pagenaud and Takuma Sato but would like to finish the 2021 season and at least a win in your pocket.

In addition to the battle for the Astor Cup and the battle between drivers who will do their best to end the season with victory, there is also an exciting battle going on for the title of Rookie Of The Year between Scott McLaughlin and Romain Grosjean. McLaughlin currently leads the rookie of the year standings with twenty points ahead of Grosjean, can the Team Penske driver take this title or will he still have to recognize his superior in the Frenchman at the last minute?

The start of the 2005 Long Beach Grand PrixThe Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach has a long history and is therefore the most popular road race on the IndyCar calendar, this is a race that a driver wants to win, the last race at the road circuit was held in 2019 after the race could not be held in 2020 due to and the COVID-19 pandemic. This year the race was originally scheduled to start in April but had to be postponed until the end of September, again due to the aforementioned disaster. So far this season we have seen eight different drivers make it to ‘Victory Lane’, will it continue and can Rinus VeeKay take his second IndyCar win or will we still get a ninth winner this season at Long Beach?

As mentioned earlier, racing on the famous road circuit in California has a long history. The Long Beach Grand Prix has been held since 1977, then as a one-off race in the Formula 5000 class. From 1978 to 1983, the Long Beach Grand Prix was a Formula 1 race and since 1984, with the exception of last year, the road circuit has hosted NTT IndyCar Series races every year. The Long Beach race was known as the Toyota Grand Prix or Long Beach for many years, from 1980 to 2018 to be exact, but after Toyota decided to stop sponsoring the race in 2019, Acura became the new title sponsor. race. As a result, the race has since been known as the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach.

First IndyCar race: 1984
Number of races run: 36
Number of different winners: 19
Previous race winner at this track: Alexander Rossi (2019)
Lap record: Hélio Castroneves in 2017, 1:06.2254
Most successful driver: Al Unser Jr., 6 wins (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1994 and 1995)

2021 race
Race length: 85 laps / 269.2 km.
Push-to-Pass: Can be used for a total of 150 seconds for up to 15 seconds at a time.
Tires: 7 sets of standard Firestone tires and 4 sets of spares per car (first players receive 1 extra set of standard tires in the first practice for free)
Green Flag: Sunday, September 26, 9:45 PM (European time)
Estimated race time: +/- 2 hours
Number of participants: 28

List of participants for the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach
The field of participants for the NTT IndyCar Series 2021 season finale is almost identical to that of the previous two races, but next weekend compared to the previous two races, an additional car will appear at the start with Charlie Kimball this second time. year in his AJ Foyt Racing car with the starting number 11 after doing so for the last time in May during the GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. More information about next weekend’s starting field, including a full list of participants and related announcements for all cars, can be viewed in the brochure guide.

Race on TV
Just like all previous races of the season, this weekend’s Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach can also be followed live on Dutch television, with all qualifying and the race being watched live on Ziggo Sport Racing next weekend with qualifying scheduled for the following weekend . Saturday at 21:00 (European time), the broadcast of the match itself will start the next day at the same time on this channel. Unfortunately, also for the final race weekend of the 2021 season, the free practice and warm-up sessions can only be followed live via the official live IndyCar watch, which you can find here.