Scuderia Ferrari in Formula 1: history, achievements and drivers

Scuderia Ferrari in Formula 1: history, achievements and drivers

  1. tz
  2. Sports
  3. formula 1

Created: Updated:

Driver Charles Leclerc in Ferrari. © Hasan Bratic / dpa

Ferrari has been part of Formula 1 without interruption since its inception. Today the racing team has many more world championship titles and other records.

Maranello – Scuderia Ferrari is one of the most famous teams in Formula 1. There are Ferrari clubs around the world that fans of the racing team organize. When Formula 1 was founded in 1950, Ferrari was one of the first eight car manufacturers to fight for the title. Since then, the Italians have been part of Formula 1 without interruption – longer than any other racing team.

The first Formula 1 World Champion at Ferrari was Alberto Ascari (36, † 1955) in 1952 and 1953. Ferrari drivers won the drivers’ championship a total of 15 times until 2007. The Constructors’ World Championship even went to the Scuderia 16 times. Ferrari most recently won the Constructors’ Championship in 2008. By the end of 2021, Ferrari had competed in 1,030 Formula 1 races. The team had won 238 races.

McLaren, with 183 race wins, is second in the standings, just behind. In 84 Grand Prix in the history of Formula 1, two Ferrari drivers have even taken the first two places. Ferrari is also high in this category. In addition, the Italian racing team has 230 pole positions and 254 fastest race laps, which are also high values.

Ferrari Formula 1 team: history

In 1929, Enzo Ferrari (90, † 1988) founded the Ferrari racing team in Modena. Initially, drivers drove Alfa Romeo models, but from the late 1930s, Ferrari models were created. In 1943, the company’s headquarters moved to Maranello, where it remains today. There is also a Ferrari Museum in the northern Italian city. In the first Formula 1 season in 1950, Ferrari lost to Alfa Romeo and did not win a single race. In the following season, José Froilán González (90, † 2013) took Ferrari’s first victory at Silverstone in England. Alberto Ascari also won twice and eventually became Vice-World Champion.

In the 1952 season, four Ferrari drivers took the top positions in the overall standings. In the 1960s and 1970s Ferrari won more world championship titles, but from 1979 the Formula 1 team went through a difficult period. It wasn’t until the 2000 season that Michael Schumacher became the Formula 1 World Champion again as a Ferrari racing driver. The last driver’s title for the Scuderia dates back to 2007 and was won by Kimi Raikkonen.

Ferrari Formula 1 team: the most important drivers

Nine racing drivers became Formula 1 world champions in Ferrari. Three of them managed this more than once, Michael Schumacher’s performance is unmatched. From 2000 to 2004 he won five drivers’ titles for the Ferrari Formula 1 team. He is followed by Alberto Ascari and Niki Lauda (70, † 2019), who each became two-time world champions with a racing team. Lauda won his first title in 1975. After his fatal accident in 1976 at the Nürburgring, it was not expected that he would be able to return to the cockpit. However, in 1977 he won the World Cup again. He won his third title in 1984 at McLaren. The following six drivers were world champions at Ferrari:

  • 1956: Juan Manuel Fangio
  • 1958: Mike Hawthorn (29, † 1959)
  • 1961: Phil Hill (81, † 2008)
  • 1964: John Surtees (83, † 2017)
  • 1979: Jody Scheckter
  • 2007: Kimi Raikkonen

Several Ferrari drivers were second in the overall standings at the end of the season and thus vice world champions. They include German pilots Wolfgang Graf Berghe von Trips (33, † 1961) in 1961 and Sebastian Vettel in the 2017 and 2018 seasons.

By Alexander Kors