Sidecar TT: announced top 10 start numbers / Touring Trophies

Sidecar TT: announced top 10 start numbers / Touring Trophies

As was the case last year, lap record holder Ben Birchall will open the sideline race in the Tour Cup. He is followed by rivals Pete Founds, Ryan Crowe, Tim Reeves and Dave Molyneux.

With 14 wins, Ben Birchall has been the clear No. 1 among sidecar drivers in the Isle of Man Touring Championship for the past ten years, and the 47-year-old Brit will be the first team to complete the 60-. The kilometer-long Snaefell Mountain Course this year under the wheels of his Honda LCR. For the first time, it will not be his younger brother Tom, but the Frenchman Kevin Rousseau who will be by his side.

Apart from Birchall who holds the lap record, Pete Founds, who was given 2 starts, is the only side car driver to achieve an average speed of 120 miles per hour. With his second place in the second race last year, he and co-driver Jevan Walmsley, who will be in the boat again this year, ensured that Birchall was not allowed to let go until the finish line.

Local heroes Ryan and Callum Crowe will have three in their sidecar like last year, while Brits Tim Reeves/Mark Wilkes and Manxman Dave Molyneaux – still the most successful sidecar driver in history with 17 Touring Trophy wins – and his co-driver. Jake Roberts will change his starting number. Both have not been particularly lucky in the past.

Although he has already stated several times that he will retire, two-time TT winner John Holden will be on the starting line again this year with Frank Claeys at the Glencrutchery Road in Douglas. Behind him, Steve Ramsden/Matthews Ramsden, returning TT duo Lee Crawford/Scott Hardie and Lewis Blackstock/Patrick Rosney along with Alan Founds and his nephew Rhys Gibbons complete the top 10.