Toprak Razgatlioglu: “I have to work hard for it” / World Superbike Championship

Toprak Razgatlioglu: “I have to work hard for it” / World Superbike Championship

With the fastest pace on Wednesday, Yamaha star Toprak Razgatlioglu got off to a good start in the final phase of his preparations for the 2023 World Championship. The Turk wants to try for a historic lap time on Thursday.

Almost all the teams from the 2023 World Superbike Championship are present at the two-day test in Jerez. Up front on Wednesday: Toprak Razgatlioglu, who received many new parts for his R1 from Yamaha for evaluation.

After 67 laps, the 2021 world champion recorded a best time of 1:38.597 minutes. “Driving my R1 after a long time was really fun,” said a cheerful Razgatlioglu in an interview with “But not only that, we also worked carefully on the first day of testing and tested new parts. We were able to improve even more – 1:38.5 minutes is very fast in Jerez.”

The Turk is not allowed to reveal what exactly was tested. “We have new electronic settings and also new parts – that’s all I can say. The aim is to achieve improvement in the acceleration phase,” said the 26-year-old. “I hope we can improve again on Thursday, we will try more parts . And I will try to do 1:37. I have to work hard for it, but it can work.”

The Yamaha star clocked his time from the first day of testing with the SCX race tire and is already under the record of 1:39.004 set by Álvaro Bautista (Ducati) at the 2019 Superpole Race. The MotoGP record of 1:37.669 min is from 2022 and was driven by Pecco Bagnaia (Ducati).

Times Jerez Test, January 25, 2023
space category Driver (Nat./Motorcycle) time/dif
1. SBK Toprak Razgatlioglu (TR/Yamaha) 1:38,597 minutes
2. SBK Alvaro Bautista (E/Ducati) + 0.255 sec
3. SBK Michael Rinaldi (I/Ducati) + 0.643
4. SBK Jonathan Rea (UK/Kawasaki) + 0.705
5. SBK Alex Lowes (UK/Kawasaki) + 1.087
6. SBK Danilo Petrucci (I/Ducati) + 1.193
7. SBK Xavi Vierge (E/Honda) + 1.282
of the 8th. SBK Iker Lecuona (E/Honda) + 1.286
9. SBK Dominique Aegerter (CH/Yamaha) + 1.337
10 SBK Scott Redding (UK/BMW) + 1.401
11. SBK Garrett Gerloff (USA/BMW) + 1.469
12. SBK Andrea Locatelli (I/Yamaha) + 1,630
13. SBK Philipp Öttl (D/Ducati) + 1,637
14 SBK Remy Gardner (AUS/Yamaha) + 1.954
15 SBK Michael v Mark (NL/BMW) + 2.173
16 SBK Tom Sykes (UK/Kawasaki) + 2.286
17 SBK Loris Baz (F/BMW) + 2,443
18 SBK Oliver Koenig (CZ/Kawasaki) + 3,034
19 SBK Lorenzo Baldassarri (I/Yamaha) + 3,129
20 SSP Nicolo Bulega (I/Ducati) + 3,857
21 SSP Can Oncu (TR/Kawasaki) + 3,869
22 SSP Federico Caricasulo (I/Ducati) + 3,941
23 SSP Andrea Mantovani (I/Yamaha) + 4,469
24 SBK Florian Marino (F/Kawasaki) + 4,618
25 SSP John McPhee (UK/Kawasaki) + 7,657