TV hours, participants, history & Co.

TV hours, participants, history & Co.

( – For two years, fans and drivers of the IndyCar series had to do without a race in Canada. Over the weekend, Toronto’s traditional road race will be held again for the first time since 2019. It’s none other than the city’s circuit on the shores of Lake Ontario now being used for the first time in the era of IndyCar Aeroscreen cockpit protection. .

The street circuit in Toronto will be back on track for the first time since 2019


In 1986, there was a race with IndyCars for the first time at the Fairgrounds in Toronto. At the time it was a CART series and the first winner was current team owner Bobby Rahal. It is doubtful that one of Rahal’s three drivers this year – Jack Harvey, Christian Lundgaard and son Graham Rahal – will end the team’s drought in Toronto at all points. As is well known, nothing can be ruled out in the IndyCar series.

In theory, there could also be a Canadian winner in Toronto on Sunday for the first time in almost 20 years. Devlin DeFrancesco (Andretti-Honda) and Dalton Kellett (Foyt-Chevrolet) are the two Canadians in this year’s starting field. In the present IndyCar 2022 standings However, the two ranked 22nd and 27th respectively. The last Canadian to win in Toronto was Paul Tracy in 2003 en route to the CART title.

Below is a summary of all the important news about IndyCar 2022 in Toronto:

Statistics at the Exhibition Place

Location: Toronto (Ontario, Canada)
Type of method: street circuit
Number of curves: 11
song length: 1.786 miles (2.874 km)
On the IndyCar calendar since: 1986 (with a break)
IndyCar track record: Simon Pagenaud in 58.429 seconds in the 2019 season

Logo: Honda Indy in Toronto

The Honda Indy Toronto covers a distance of 85 laps zoom

Schedule IndyCar 2022 Toronto (in local time; difference in Central Europe: 6 hours)

Friday 15 July
2:30 pm: First free practice session (75 minutes)

Saturday 16th July
10:00 am: 2nd free practice (60 minutes)
2:00 pm: Qualifying (three parts)

Sunday 17 July
10:55 am: Warm-up (30 minutes)
3:00pm: Race – Honda Indy Toronto (85 laps; Start: 3:30pm)

TV Times and Live Stream IndyCar 2022 Toronto (in CEST)

Friday 15 July
20:30 CEST: First free practice on

Saturday 16th July
16:00 CEST: Free practice 2 on
20:00 CEST: Qualifying on

Sunday 17 July
16:55 CEST: Warming up on
21:00 CEST: Race on Sky Sport F1 (Race start: 21:30 CEST)

In the DACH (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) region, pay TV broadcaster Sky will broadcast all races of the 2022 IndyCar season live and in full.

Sky offers two ways to watch IndyCar live. First, about the classic “Sky Q” subscription., with a receiver for reception via satellite, cable or Internet. On the other hand within the framework of “WOW”which can easily be saved as a pure streaming service without a receiver.

In the United States, the 2022 IndyCar season will be televised live and in full by NBC. It is broadcast live on a major channel or on a special interest channel of USA Network.

As an alternative or in addition to NBC TV coverage in the US, all episodes (practice, qualifying sessions, races) of the 2022 IndyCar season will be streamed live. PeacockNBC’s premium streaming site.

Outside of the US there is one live streaming of free training sessions and qualifying sessions, on the official IndyCar website. A life expectancy for all sessions (practice, qualifying sessions, races) of the 2022 IndyCar season is also available for free on the official IndyCar website.

IndyCar 2022 Toronto entry list (25 cars)

The only race of the 2022 IndyCar season to be held outside the United States is the first to have fewer than 26 cars entered. Because the #11 Foyt, driven by Tatiana Calderon on the circuit and road circuits, is absent due to budget concerns. The remaining 25 cars are taken by regular drivers.

#2 – Penske-Chevrolet – Josef Newgarden (USA) – 3 wins of the season
#3 – Penske-Chevrolet – Scott McLaughlin (New Zealand) – 2 wins of the season
#4 – Foyt Chevrolet – Dalton Kellett (Canada)
#5 – McLaren-Chevrolet – Patricio O’Ward (Mexico) – 1 win of the season
#06 – Shank Honda – Helio Castroneves (Brazil)
#7 – McLaren Chevrolet – Felix Rosenqvist (Sweden)
#8 – Ganassi-Honda – Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) – 1 win of the season
#9 – Ganassi-Honda – Scott Dixon (New Zealand)
#10 – Ganassi Honda – Alex Palou (Spain)
#12 – Penske-Chevrolet – Will Power (Australia) – 1 win of the season
#14 – Foyt Chevrolet – Kyle Kirkwood (USA) *
#15 – Rahal Honda – Graham Rahal (USA)
#18 – Coyne Honda – David Malukas (USA) *
#20 – Carpenter Chevrolet – Conor Daly (USA)
#21 – Carpenter Chevrolet – Rinus VeeKay (Netherlands)
#26 – Andretti-Honda – Colton Herta (USA) – 1 season win
#27 – Andretti Honda – Alexander Rossi (USA)
#28 – Andretti Honda – Romain Grosjean (France)
#29 – Andretti-Honda – Devlin DeFrancesco (Canada) *
#30 – Rahal Honda – Christian Lundgaard (Denmark) *
#45 – Rahal Honda – Jack Harvey (UK)
#48 – Ganassi Honda – Jimmie Johnson (USA)
#51 – Coyne Honda – Takuma Sato (Japan)
#60 – Shank Honda – Simon Pagenaud (France)
#77 – Juncos-Chevrolet – Callum Ilott (UK) *

* Rookie

History: All IndyCar race winners in Toronto

2019: Simon Pagenaud
2018: Scott Dixon
2017: Josef Newgarden
2016: WillPower
2015: Josef Newgarden
2014: Sebastien Bourdais / Mike Conway
2013: Scott Dixon / Scott Dixon
2012: Ryan Hunter Ray
2011: Dario Franchitti
2010: WillPower
2009: Dario Franchitti
2007 (ChampCar): Will Power
2006 (ChampCar): AJ Allmendinger
2005 (ChampCar): Justin Wilson
2004 (ChampCar): Sebastien Bourdais
2003 (CART): Paul Tracy
2002 (CART): Cristiano da Matta
2001 (CART): Michael Andretti
2000 (CART): Michael Andretti
1999 (CART): Dario Franchitti
1998 (CART): Alex Zanardi
1997 (CART): Mark Blundell
1996 (Cart): Adrian Fernandez
1995 (CART): Michael Andretti
1994 (CART): Michael Andretti
1993 (CART): Paul Tracy
1992 (CART): Michael Andretti
1991 (CART): Michael Andretti
1990 (Cart): Al Our Jr.
1989 (CART): Michael Andretti
1988 (CART): Al Our Jr.
1987 (CART): Emerson Fittipaldi
1986 (Cart): Bobby Rahal