Volkswagen entrusts the heavy lifting to Skoda

Volkswagen entrusts the heavy lifting to Skoda

With the upcoming arrival of the Euro 7 standard, Skoda has been instructed by the management of the Volkswagen group to continue the development of small petrol engines.

The small gasoline engines of the Volkswagen Group are known by the code name “EA211”. It has been sold since 2011, currently they prepare about fifty types of the group.

According to recent announcements from the German company, these small blocks will continue to be sold thanks to Skoda, who got the serious responsibility of continuing their development for the whole group at least until the arrival of the Euro 7 standard, and maybe even more.

Some future time

The news was delivered directly by Skoda, which also announced the opening of hiring 150 new employees for its R&D department.

The latest car to be powered by an engine from the EA211 family will be the new Volkswagen Passat, which will be developed in collaboration with the Czech manufacturer alongside the next-generation Superb and on the latest evolution of the MQB platform. Both will be produced at the Bratislava factory and only with hybrid engines.

The group also announced that outside of Europe the EA211 engine will continue to be offered where emissions regulations are “less strict”. At the same time, the group will continue to work on reducing the consumption and emissions of its internal combustion engines.

A complete family of engines

Skoda is not new to engine development. Indeed, the Czech manufacturer is also responsible for the development of the EA211 family of aircraft engines. The EA211 is an engine family that has played a very important role in the history of all manufacturers in the group. It is an evolution of the original EA111, the engine base of which was available with a 1.4 liter TSI with its turbocharger, or a 1.2 liter with its timing chain.

The EA211 is arguably the most reliable engine family. The timing chain system was replaced with a “simple” belt and, to improve cooling, the engines were equipped with an additional additional water pump with variable flow, electrically controlled and connected to the engine with a different belt.

Initially, this family of small turbocharged and naturally aspirated engines was available in four different displacements, depending on the size of the car: 1.0 liter three-cylinder naturally aspirated, 1.2 liter three-cylinder TSI, 1.4 liter TSI four-cylinder and 1.6 liter naturally aspirated four-cylinder. Over time, the lineup changed, the 1.6 liter was replaced by a turbo version and the 1.4 liter TSI was fitted with a cylinder deactivation system in its 150 hp version.

Recently, the 1.4-liter TSI has disappeared from the catalog, except for plug-in hybrids. It was replaced by a new 1.5-liter TSI of 130 or 150 hp equipped – in some cases – with a micro-hybrid.

Read also:
• Volkswagen Golf 8: facelift confirmed!
• €1,067 bill for a “worn” steering wheel at 44,500 km!
• Which diesel engines should be avoided?

What about the 2.0 liter TSI?

As for the four-cylinder 2.0-liter TSI (EA888), there is nothing new under the sun at the moment. Skoda is not in charge of its development, and it is not known if it will continue to be issued after the adoption of the Euro 7 standard.

As a reminder, the 2.0-liter TSI equips some of the group’s sports cars, starting with the Volkswagen Golf R, Audi S3, Cupra Leon and the other Volkswagen Golf GTI.