Haas: No Ferrari replacement for Schumacher / Formula 1

Haas: No Ferrari replacement for Schumacher / Formula 1

Mick Schumacher can breathe easy after good performances in England and Austria. The German has gained a lot of confidence. And as Ferrari’s understudy, his place in Formula 1 is not in jeopardy.

Ferrari team boss Mattia Binotto has prepared this way for his young driver Mick Schumacher: “We put Mick as one of our young drivers in the Haas racing team. The aim must be that it will increase significantly in the second year, i.e. 2022. » The Italian also explained what should happen to Mick Schumacher in the medium term: “We are not training Formula 1 drivers, but Ferrari racing team drivers.”

Also in the context of the Ferrari Academy, the pressure is off in the boiler. Not only because of Mick’s eighth place in England and a great sixth place in Austria. The truth is that nobody at Ferrari is trying to challenge Schumacher for his chance to be promoted to the premier class. Antonio Giovinazzi will not return, the Italian had his place and everyone knows his limits. As the Russian, Robert Shwartzman is currently hard to place, Callum Ilott is trying his luck as an IndyCar driver.

However: Unlike in the past, Ferrari no longer has the right to take positions with customers Alfa Romeo and Haas to cater to the youth. If Mick Schumacher wants to stay with the Americans, then the form must remain as good as it is now.

Haas team boss Günther Steiner said at the beginning of July: Before the summer break there will be no talks about who will drive alongside Kevin Magnussen in 2023.

Ferrari Driver Academy Pilots

Jules Bianchi (F): 2009 to 2014
Sergio Perez (MEX): 2010 to 2012
Mirko Bortolotti (I): 2010
Daniel Zampieri (I): 2010 to 2012
Brandon Maisano (I): 2010 to 2012
Raffaele Marciello (I): 2010 to 2015
Lance Stroll (CDN): 2010 to 2015
Antonio Fuoco (I): 2013 to 2018
Guanyuzhou (RCH): 2014 to 2018
Antonio Giovinazzi (I): since 2016
Charles Leclerc (MC): 2016/2017
Giuliano Alesi (F): 2016 to 2020
Marcus Armstrong (NZ): 2017 to 2021
Enzo Fittipaldi (BR): 2017 to 2021
Sebastian Montoya (COL): 2018 to 2021
Callum Ilott (England): since 2018
Robert Shwartzman (RUS): since 2018
Gianluca Petecof (BR): 2018 to 2020
Mick Schumacher (D): since 2019
Dino Beganovic (S): since 2020
Arthur Leclerc (MC): since 2020
Maya Weug (NL/B): since 2021
James Wharton (UK): since 2021
Oliver Bearman (UK): since 2022
Rafael Câmara (BR): since 2022
Laura Camps Torras (E): since 2022