Oliver Rowland (Nissan) and Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) win the Formula E race at Misano

Oliver Rowland (Nissan) and Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) win the Formula E race at Misano

Sunday April 14, 2024 by Tom Geurde

This Saturday and Sunday, the sixth and seventh rounds of the tenth season of the Formula E World Championship took place in Misano, Italy. For these E-Prixes, the drivers competed for the two victories on the longest circuit of the season considering that it is 3.381 kilometers with 14 turns.

Before starting the first E-Prix on Saturday, Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing) took a good position in 1’17”068. He was ahead of Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) at the start by just 160 thousandths of a second.

Course 1

At the start of this sixth round of Formula E, Mitch Evans retained his first place. However, he was quickly overtaken by Sébastien Buemi who started from ninth place with his Envision. Still in the first round of this E-Prix, Edoardo Mortara (Mahindra) had to retire following a technical problem.

After that, the show was uncertain and went through many changes of the leader. In the second lap, German Porsche driver Pascal Wehrlein led the race. He quickly conceded to Buemi who was later overtaken by Nick Cassidy (Jaguar TCS Racing). However, Cassidy decided to go through the Attack Lane area and give the lead to Jean-Éric Vergne.

On lap four, Vergne decided to emulate Nick Cassidy and also pass the Attack Lane area, leaving António Félix da Costa (Porsche) to take the E-Prix lead. The battle at the front continued one after the other and da Costa lost first place to his colleague Wehrlein.

During the fifth lap, Jean-Éric Vergne and Nick Cassidy collided in the false chicane of the Misano circuit. Adjudged wrong for this incident, Jean-Éric Vergne received a 5-second penalty. Cassidy, on the other hand, had to go to the pits to replace the front wing of his Jaguar.

At the front, many changes of the leader continued with Pascal Wehrlein also having to return to the pit. His team had to change its front wing on the seventh lap because it fell behind Vergne. As a result, Cassidy and Wehrlein found themselves in the bottom two. Sam Bird (McLaren), who led this E-Prix for a while, also pitted on lap 17 due to a puncture following contact in the peloton.

On the 26th of the 28 laps, Portuguese António Félix da Costa took the race lead for the last time from Oliver Rowland (Nissan) and did not lose it again until the finish. Rowland crossed the finish line in second place. However, the Englishman ended up inheriting the victory, as Félix da Costa was eliminated from the race following a technical fault. He was driving with a non-compliant spring.

With this achievement, Oliver Rowland became the sixth different winner in six E-Prixes this season. Meanwhile, he gave Nissan its first win of the season in Formula E. Behind Rowland, Jake Dennis (Andretti) and Maximilian Günther (Maserati) completed the podium. They were followed by Dan Ticktum (ERT) and Mitch Evans, 4th and 5th. Because of his penalty, Jean-Éric Vergne finished in sixth place. For full rank, Click here.

Course 2

For this Sunday’s race, Jake Hughes (McLaren) managed to take the place of 1’16”538. Jean-Éric Vergne once again started from second place this weekend.

At the start of this second race at Misano, Jake Hughes kept his first place without too many problems and got away well. He remained in the E-Prix lead until lap 4 when he was overtaken by Jean-Éric Vergne.

One lap later, Pascal Wehrlein took first place. However, he decided to go through the Attack Lane zone and Nick Cassidy took the opportunity to pass him. Behind, many overtakes were also taking place.

On lap 7, Nico Müller (ABT Cupra) took the lead. On one lap, Robin Frijns and his Envision found themselves in a gravel trap after contact with Bird’s McLaren and Mortara’s Mahindra. So Robin Frijns had to retire. The safety car was out for two laps, allowing the drivers to save energy. At the restart, Müller remained in front.

On lap 10, Nick Cassidy took the lead again. He lost some time to Jake Hughes, but quickly managed to regain it. On lap 11, António Félix da Costa crashed into the McLaren car and broke his front wing. So he had to go to the wells.

In front of the hall, like this Saturday, we had many changes of leader. In the middle of the race, Norman Nato (Andretti) got behind the car of Jean-Éric Vergne and also had to go through the pits. Up front, Oliver Rowland was in first place.

In the 17th round of the E-Prix, Sébastien Buemi had to retire after losing several places on his Envision. Up front, Pascal Wehrlein overtook Oliver Rowland to take first place. But Rowland passed him again with six laps to go and continued to lead until the final lap. However, he used too much energy to try to stay and found himself stopped a few corners from the finish. So Pascal Wehrlein regained first place and won this seventh E-Prix of the season.

This victory makes Pascal Wehrlein the only driver to win two races this season. For his part, Jake Dennis finished second and signed his second podium of the weekend. Nick Cassidy took third place at the finish line, passing Nico Müller in the last minute. Jake Hughes, who held pole position, finished fifth ahead of Sacha Fenestraz (Nissan), Sérgio Sette Câmara (ERT) and Jean-Éric Vergne. Maserati duo Maximilian Günther and Jehan Darivala completed the top 10. For full rank, Click here.

At the end of these two races in Misano, Pascal Wehrlein leads the drivers’ championship and is tied with Jake Dennis. Both have 89 points. Oliver Rowland is in third place. For manufacturers, Jaguar TCS Racing is still ahead of Andretti and Porsche first.